StudentTracker 3.0 Manage Users (5 minutes)
As a StudentTracker user administrator at a high school, district, consortium or state department of education, you have an important role to play in ensuring who has access to StudentTracker. Let’s go through how to add a new user and common user administration requests your colleagues may have.
User administrators manage the access of users for your Clearinghouse account by maintaining the contacts list (edit, delete, and add user accounts). This is an important role that:
- helps keep your account secure,
- provides access to the Clearinghouse service(s) for your team,
- ensures your school, institution, district, consortium, or third-party agent acting on the school’s behalf receives essential communications from the Clearinghouse,
- and ensures the confidential and personally identifiable information of your graduates and their journey is accessed only by your current staff.
Importance of Having Multiple User Administrators
There should be more than one user administrator for your Clearinghouse account. This ensures that your school, institution, district, or consortium can quickly make updates and maintain access to the service.
Resource
Video Transcript
As a user administrator, you play an important role in keeping your institution's StudentTracker account accurate and up-to-date. You ensure the right people have access and that access is removed when staff leave or responsibilities change. If you're new to this role, don't worry. This tutorial is designed to help you get comfortable and feel confident with the basics.
Every StudentTracker subscription has at least one user administrator. It's strongly recommended to have more than one user administrator at your institution for continuity and support.
Your main job is simple. Keep your user list up-to-date by reviewing the contact list regularly and making updates as needed.
To do that, let's navigate to your contact list. Go to www.stclearinghouse.org and select user login. Then sign in with your credentials. These login credentials are unique to you and not the same as your shared FTP mailbox login. If you don't know your credentials and the other user administrators from your institution have left, email studenttracker@studentclearinghouse.org with your institution or organization name and if known, your user ID.
Once logged in, on your institution's StudentTracker page, select the StudentTracker 3.0 link. You'll see the StudentTracker outcomes dashboard. In the left hand menu, click the gear accounts and settings icon. In accounts and settings, click the users tab. Here is a list of all contacts associated with your StudentTracker account and the roles each person has.
To make changes or add a new user, select manage users.
If this is your first time accessing user management, review the user administration terms and conditions and click I accept.
The manage users page is the same contact list on the user administration.
Let's say someone new started and needs access to StudentTracker 3.0 reporting. Under the table on the right, click create a new user.
Enter the required personal information such as name, title, and contact information, including email address. Then click submit. The popup indicates the record saved successfully. Click okay.
Account details with a web ID entry field is now available and there's also a table of org. and service level roles. Next, assign the appropriate roles. Hover over any role to see a description. Roles should be assigned in both StudentTracker for High Schools and StudentTracker 3.0. Here we're adding the data analyzer role to give access to reporting in the StudentTracker 3.0 application. Since this role is in italics, it indicates that it will be accessing the StudentTracker application and we need to assign a web ID. When finished, click submit.
You'll get confirmation that your change to the record has been saved successfully. Be sure to notify the new user and provide them with any necessary information about StudentTracker.
Let's navigate back to the manage users table. Under account tools, click manage users.
Now that we've created a user, let's edit existing users using some common situations. Select a user from the table to access the user's profile.
[Image changes to Amelia's account detail page. The web id status shows as Inactive with an activate button beneath it.]
First, Amelia reaches out because she can't log in. Review the web ID status. If the status is inactive, she most likely hasn't logged in in over a year. Use the activate button to restore access.
[Web id status changes to show as locked with an unlock account button beneath it.]
If the status is locked, she most likely locked her account attempting to enter her password too many times. So, there's an unlock account button. Click that.
A confirmation popup will appear after each button click. Click yes to confirm the action.
[Web id status changes to active. Four buttons are beneath the status: Inactivate, Lock Account, Reset Password, Reset Multi-Factor]
Choose reset password. There may be times when users also need their multi-factor reset. Then let her know the reset email has been sent. This is one of the quickest updates you'll handle.
[Image changes to Andy User's account detail page. At the bottom of the personal information section, the user's status is listed as active with a Delete User Profile button. When the button is clicked, the screen grays out and displays an action confirmation popup.]
Next, Andy's supervisor notifies you that he has left your school or organization. To maintain data security, it's important to remove users who are no longer employed or no longer need access. This helps to ensure your institution's information stays protected. To delete a user, first note any critical responsibilities that need to be assigned to another user. Then choose delete to remove their account. If you need to reassign a required role, you will be prompted to do so. Click yes to confirm the action.
[Image shifts to John User's account detail page. In the user roles table, the Data Analyzer checkbox is selected. Then the submit button is highlighted.]
Lastly, you're covering for someone on leave, so you need additional permissions. Add or remove roles in the roles table. Don't forget to click submit to save your changes.
[Scene changes to a drafted email to an internal distro list stating the person is covering for the next three weeks and to let him know if you need a regular report during that time.]
It's also helpful to communicate these changes internally to keep everyone aligned.
[Scene changes to text: For more information...studenttracker@studentclearinghouse.org.]
We are here to support you as you learn your new responsibilities. If you have questions, email us anytime at studenttracker@studentclearinghouse.org.
User Administration Q&A
What are user administrators expected to do?
User administrators at your organization manage the access of users for your Clearinghouse account by maintaining the contacts list (edit, delete, and add user accounts).
How often should I update my contact list?
It’s recommended to keep your contact list updated and remove contacts as they leave. It’s also recommended to do a quarterly audit of your contact list and delete or deactivate any users who are no longer at your organization. Tip: Set a recurring reminder on your calendar to review the list and remove/add users and adjust roles as needed.
How do I know if I’m a user admin?
Login to the Clearinghouse secure site and navigate to Account & Settings (StudentTracker 3.0 link on the Research Services homepage > Account & Settings in the left-hand navigation > Users tab). Find the row with your name and review the roles assigned to you. From that page, if you are a user administrator, you can click Manage Users.
What if I haven’t identified who my user administrators are?
User administrators are selected by the individual who signed the service agreement and are setup when the service is implemented.
What if all user administrators have left?
If all contacts with the user admin role for your account have left, work with your colleagues to identify who should have the user admin role and then reach out to the Clearinghouse to let us know that the individual has left and which individuals need to have the user administrator role added.
When do I deactivate vs delete a user?
If a user is on temporary leave such as parental leave, you can use the deactivate option so the user will be unable to login and you will be able to activate the user’s account again upon the user’s return.
If a user has left your school, use the delete option.



